Monday, June 1, 2009

Mailbox Monday

Marcia, The Printed Page, hosts Mailbox Monday each week. She writes:
"Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books came into their house last week (checked out library books don’t count, eBooks & audio books do). Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists."
This is my first time participating. Last week I was invited to join Amazon Vine Program and I received my first book on Friday.

Title: The Last Bridge
Author: Teri Coyne

For fans of Jodi Picoult and Sue Miller, a dark, edgy, page-turning debut about the lengths one woman will travel to escape her past

After a ten-year absence, Alex 'Cat' Rucker returns to her Ohio hometown because of a letter left on her mother's kitchen table, a suicide note, carefully preserved in a Ziploc® bag, that reads:

"He isn't who you think he is. Love, Mom"

Thus opens this stunning debut novel from author Teri Coyne, who, with wry humor and sharp wit, follows Alex's journey through the traumatic experiences of her youth and the haze of her adult life.

While Alex tries to repress the memories of her brutal childhood, an abusive father, her estranged (and possibly illegitimate) brother, and the first love who would do anything to save her, she must face just how shattered she still is. At each step Alex confronts her biggest fears, realizes the impact of her choices, and inches closer to redemption. Can she embrace her vulnerabilities, talents, and desire for love, or will the revelations of her mother's cryptic note prove too overwhelming for her to bear?

The Last Bridge is a perfect blend of suspense, despair, and romance and at its heart lies the question: are we a product of our experiences or our choices? (From Amazon)

2 comments:

  1. I hope you enjoy the book!

    ReplyDelete
  2. One of our library readers likes Jodi Picoult so I might check this author out. Thanks.

    ReplyDelete