Sunday, April 19, 2009

16 Lighthouse Road by Debbie Macomber

Title: 16 Lighthouse Road
Author: Debbie Macomber
Series: Cedar Cove #1
ISBN-13: 9781551668307
Pages: 377
Year Published: 2001
Genre: Romance (Series)
Date Finished: April 17

From the back cover:
Olivia Lockhart
16 Lighthouse Road Cedar Cove, Washington

Dear Listener,
You don't know me yet, but in a few hours that's going to change. You see, I'm inviting you to my home and my town of Cedar Cove because I want you to meet my family, friends, and neighbors. Come and hear their stories - maybe even their secrets!

I have to admit that my own secrets are pretty open. My marriage failed some years ago, and I have a rather...difficult relationship with my daughter, Justine. Then there's my mother, Charlotte, who has plenty of opinions and is always willing to share them.

Here's an example: I'm a family court judge and she likes to drop in on my courtroom. Recently I was hearing a divorce petition. In Charlotte's view, young Cecilia and Ian Randall hadn't tried hard enough to make their marriage work - and I agreed. So I rendered my judgment: Divorce Denied.

Well, you wouldn't believe the reaction! Thanks to an article by Jack Griffin, the editor of our local paper (and a man I wouldn't mind seeing more of!), everyone's talking.
Cedar Cove - people love it and sometimes they leave it, but they never forget it!

See you soon...

My thoughts: I've had this book on my TBR list for almost 6 years! It's one of those that I keep meaning to read, but haven't yet. When I saw my library had it on audio book, I decided now is finally the time to read it.

16 Lighthouse Road is about Olivia Lockhart's family and circle of friends. Each character is introduced as Ms. Macomber allows us a glimpse in his or her life. It's a great start to what I'm sure will be an intimate series. Want to meet some new friends? Read 16 Lighthouse Road. I'm just embarrassed it took me so long to read it.

1 comment:

  1. I remember really enjoying this book and I have the next several in the series, but for some reason I haven't gotten around to reading the next one! Thanks for reminding me...